Who’s up for what?

The Professional Publishers Association (PPA) prides itself on being the voice of professional publishers in the UK. PPA offers various benefits to its members and represents a broad range of companies. From magazine publishing to business-to-business data providers, it plays a major role in the ever-evolving world of publishing.
Members receive free legal advice, insurance, access to exclusive research, and discounts on events. If a member has any concerns of a legal nature, they can receive help and backing from the PPA. It’s also at the forefront of innovation, cutting-edge research and insights into the industry.
PPA celebrates the publishing industry each year by hosting the PPA Awards. In 2015, they had a guest list of around 1,000 people. The award ceremony is a chance for all sectors of the industry to come together, recognise and pay tribute to some of the best magazines, brands, writers and companies of the year.

2016 Categories and Past Winners

Consumer Magazine:
The winner of the consumer magazine of the year will demonstrate its excellence in marketing, editorial, design, and customer awareness.
(2015: The Week)
Specialist Consumer:
Judges are looking for a magazine that delivers a very specific message. The magazine should target a specialist market, such as hobbies, interiors or sports.
(2015: Cyclist)
Business Magazine:
This category is specifically directed towards the business-to-business sector. The magazine must be published at least four times a year and exhibit outstanding aesthetics, content and market knowledge.
(2015: BMJ)
Consumer Media Brand:
Commercial success is a must within this category, and the winning brand will showcase a multi-media output across various sales and promotional channels.
(2015: Good Housekeeping)
International Consumer Media Brand:
The recipient of this award will have grown a following or successfully expanded the brand to include an international customer base, including apps, print, digital or other mobile products.
(2015: Jamie Magazine)
Business Media Brand:
Judges are looking for a brand that has been successfully responsive to quick changes in their particular market. The winner will showcase a cross section of media channels.
(2015: HSJ)
Digital Innovation:
An award will be given out in both the consumer and business sectors. Each winner will have developed an excellent digital product that can be standalone or derived from a print product.
(2015 consumer: The Economist Espresso App)
(2015 business: HSJ Intelligence)
Customer Magazine:
Awarded to a magazine that’s published at least twice a year, and is directed towards a particular customer of a brand or organisation.
(2015: N by Norwegian)
Team Leader:
This award pinpoints specific leaders within the publishing sector who have demonstrated a strong connection between vision and marketplace knowledge.
(2015: Kathy Day at Radio Times)
Publishing Innovator:
Only publishing companies with an annual turnover of under £10m are eligible to enter. This award highlights an outstanding individual within a small business.
(2015: Nicholas Rapley at Open Door Media)
This is one of the most competitive awards, which pinpoints individual contribution from an editor.
(2015 consumer: Lindsay Nicholson at Good Housekeeping)
(2015 business: Eric Musgrave at Drapers)
This award is eligible for both digital and print writers who demonstrate a stylistic and unique talent.
(2015 consumer: Will Self at Esquire)
(2015 business: Mark Ritson at Marketing Week)
Judges are looking for a columnist who has real influence and connection with their audience. This category ranges from blogs to traditional newspaper columns.
(2015 consumer: Alison Graham at Radio Times)
(2015 business: Mark Rison at Marketing Week)
The winner of this award will have a strong portfolio of work that demonstrates a connection between their design and the overall success of the brand or publication.
(2015 consumer: Stuart Selner for Cosmopolitan)
(2015 business: Darren Endicott for Professional Manager)
Front cover:
Previous winners have delivered thought-provoking front covers of a high standard in design and imagination.
(2015: The Big Issue)
The winner of this award will have hosted an event that’s strengthened the reputation and commercial success of a brand.
(2015 consumer: The Photography Show)
(2015 business: The Drum Live)
Best Use of Social Media:
A social media campaign that has truly made an impact on its followers and a wider audience are considered. All forms of social media are accepted.
(2015: Heat)
PPA Great Leap Forward Award:
This is a brand new award for the 2016 ceremony. It focuses on risk takers and radical innovation within an established brand.
Where and when?
The PPA 2016 Awards take place at Grosvenor House in London on June 30th.
Find out more on the website.

Oops! We could not locate your form.